Pikliz

Pronounced, “pick-leez,” this Haitian condiment is usually served with meats and fried foods. I discovered this recipe on Epicurious.com As a lover of spicy food, I couldn’t resist. I was unable to find Scotch Bonnet peppers in my area, so I substituted habaneros as suggested. I also replaced the shallots with red onions because that’s what I had on hand. After 3 days, I tried the Pikliz on top of my turkey burger: de-Lish!

It’s tart with a bit of spice. I didn’t find it too spicy, maybe because I didn’t have the Scotch Bonnets. I’ll definitely keep a batch of my new condiment find on hand from now on. It’s good on scrambled eggs and avocado toast too! Make a batch or two today and share with your friends.

Peace & Java

 

Prep Time: 15  min                 Cook Time: 0 min                       Difficulty: Easy Peasy

Servings: 16                             Serving Size: 1/4 cup                   Yield: 4 cups      SP: 0


INGREDIENTS:

2 1/2 cups thinly sliced cabbage, cut crosswise 2-3 times for shorter shreds (from about 1/4 large cabbage)

1 cup julienned or grated carrots,  about 1 medium carrot

1/2 cup thinly sliced red onion

6 Scotch bonnet peppers, stemmed, quartered

6 sprigs thyme

8 whole cloves

1 teaspoon kosher salt

3 cups (or more) distilled white vinegar

3 tablespoons fresh regular lime juice

DIRECTIONS:

1. Pack cabbage, carrots, onions, peppers, thyme, cloves, and salt into a 1 1/2-quart resealable jar. Add vinegar and lime juice, seal jar, and shake until ingredients are distributed and salt is dissolved. Add more vinegar if needed to just cover vegetables.  Chill, shaking gently twice daily, at least 3 days before serving.

NOTES, TIPS & TRICKS: Use packaged coleslaw mix and carrots to save time and minimize leftovers.

Leave a Reply

