Spicy Asian Cucumber & Onion Salad

I initially received this recipe via email from America’s Test Kitchen, however by the time I got around to trying it out, I was unable to access the recipe without a membership. Luckily for me, the internet is filled with cook’s that re-post loved recipes. I was reunited with this cucumber recipe by a generous Food.com user.

I added onions to the salad because I like the traditional cucumber, tomato and onion salad I eat so much of this time of year. Next time, I make this salad, I’m going to  omit the  sugar and maybe toss in some tomatoes. Like I always say, make it your own. Enjoy this refreshing veggie salad as a main dish or as a cool side.

Peace & Java

 

Adapted from America’s Test Kitchen recipe:

Prep Time: 15 min                 Cook Time: 5 min                       Total Time: 1 hour 20 min

Difficulty: Easy Peasy           Yield: 2 cups                                 SP: 2

Servings: 4                              Serving Size: 1/2 cup                 Yield: varies      SP: 2

img_3341img_3343


INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup rice wine vinegar

1-2 tablespoons sugar (I recommend adding 1 tbsp at a time and tasting)

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

2 tablespoons fresh ginger, grated – I keep a knob of ginger in a resealable plastic bag in the freezer and grate with a rasp for recipes as needed.

1 1/2 tablespoons red chili garlic sauce, or to taste if you like it less spicy

1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil

3-4 cucumbers, about 2 cups, seeded and cut crosswise into 1/2 inch slices to look like a half moons. – I like to peel alternating strips from my cucumber to create a zebra effect. Keep in mind. the smaller the cumber slices, the quicker they will begin to wilt.

4 scallions.green onions, while and green parts, thinly sliced

1/4 cup red onion, thinly sliced

1/4 cup packed fresh basil, minced

kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste – Personally, I don’t find a need for either salt or pepper with this dish because of the chili sauce.


DIRECTIONS:

1.Bring vinegar, and sugar to boil in saucepan over medium-high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until mixture reduces by half, 5 to 6 minutes. Transfer to medium bowl and cool to room temperature.

2.Whisk in lime juice, ginger, garlic chili sauce, sesame oil, scallions and basil. Toss in cucumbers and red onion. Season with salt and pepper, if needed. Let sit for 10 minutes or up to 1 hour.

3. Serve with a smile!

NOTES, TIPS & TRICKS: Leftovers for this salad, don’t fair well because of the high water content in cucumbers, which softens the cucumber after a day or so making them mushy.  I like to make a batch of dressing and store it in a salad dressing cruet or mason jar. When I want cucumber salad, I chop the cucumber and red onion add 2-3 tablespoons of the dressing. Let the veggies marinate 30 min-1 hour and devour!


Leave a Reply

