Black Pepper Boubon Bacon Jam

Bacon, glorious bacon! Who doesn’t love the smell of bacon sizzling on the stove or in the oven? I know some people don’t eat pork or just don’t care for bacon. I am NOT one of those people. Bring on the salty, crispy, meaty pig meat and I’m in heaven.

The first time I had bacon jam was at a food truck in Milwaukee, WI in the summer of 2014. Unfortunately, I don’t remember the name of the food truck but that sammich with the bacon jam and pork belly was so so so so very tasty! I remember searching online for Bacon Jam recipes after that food truck experience s I could learn more about this slightly sweet and salty pork-based jam. Since the summer of 2014, I’ve seen bacon jam on a few menus here and there, and I think even on a food coking shows. But, it wasn’t until last weekend that I became obsessed with making my own bacon jam.

I was thinking that a BLT sounded delish and so I went to the freezer to take out a package to defrost. Then it hit me, what about a BLT with Bacon Jam! So, I grabbed another pound of bacon from the freezer and placed them on a plate in the fridge to defrost for the Super Sassy BLT I was building in my head.

Peace & Java

Prep Time: 30                 Cook Time: 20 min                        Difficulty: Intermediate                      Servings: 16                     Serving Size: 2 tablespoons         Yield: about 2 cups – 1 pint

 


 

INGREDIENTS:

2 pounds bacon: 1 1/2 lb cooked  and chopped  and 1/2 lb reserved for my Super Sassy BLT

1-2 tablespoons bacon fat, reserved from cooked bacon

1 small sweet onion, finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon  fresh thyme, roughly chopped

1 teaspoon rosemary, roughly chopped

1 – 1 1/2 cup water

1/4 cup cinnamon bourbon

2-3  tablespoons balsamic vinegar, or to taste

2-3 tablespoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon hot paprika

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

 


 

DIRECTIONS:

 

1. Fry the bacon until it browned and medium crisp. Remove the bacon, drain on a plate with papers towels and set aside to cool.

2. Discard all but about 1 tablespoon of the bacon fat to saute the onion. Add the onions to heated pan and saute on low – medium heat until softened and browned. Add the garlic and saute 1-2 minutes.

 

 

3. Add the thyme, rosemary, black pepper, hot paprika, cinnamon, ginger, allspice and salt to the onion and garlic mixture. Cook for 2-3  minutes,blending with the onion and garlic.

4. Carefully, add the bourbon to the pan, stirring to deglaze the bottom and cook out some of the alcohol.

5. Mix  the chopped bacon to the pan – reserving enough slices for sandwiches or another use.  Add in the brown sugar, balsamic vinegar and bring the mixture to a boil until it becomes thick and syrupy. The jam will be chunky. If the mixture needs thinning add  1 to 1 and 1/2 cup water – 1/4 cup at a time – until the jam reaches the desired consistency.  Taste and adjust seasonings as necessary.

6. Place the jam into a sterilized  mason jar, cool and store in the fridge.  The bacon jam will keep up to 1 month.

7. Serve at room temperature as a spread for your fave sandwich, with eggs or on toast.

 

 

NOTES, TIPS & TRICKS: Whenever I cook bacon, I cook up then entire package so that I have leftovers on hand for sandwiches, soup toppings, salads and snacking. If you love bacon like I do…..you understand!

I like to use a variety of bacon like Applewood, smoked, pepper, or honey, thick cut and/or center cut. Use your fave bacon combo to create the jam of your dreams.

Leave a Reply

