Cinnamon Peanut Butter Cups 

This blog post is dedicated to Glo. Dessert is served! 

The other night, I invited some friends over to chill and chillax and taste my lasted recipe, Once the main event Spicy Corn and Chicken Chowder and Seasoned Oyster Crackers were done, I couldn’t  help thinking desert would be a nice touch. I didn’t have time to bake. I needed a quick, no-cook easy peasy desert.

Last week while watching The Chew, I remember Chef Michael Symon, whipping up a Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse. It was quick and super easy. I googled the recipe, only to discover that I didn’t have heavy whipping cream on hand. So I searched my fridge fo substitutions. I did have whipped cream and fat-free half and half, which I had used to make the chowder. Using the ingredients, I had on hand, I whipped up my version of Chef Symon’s mousse, I’m nt sure mine ca be called a mousse, but my friends agreed it was pretty damn tasty and asked for the recipe. Ya know, ya pretty much can’t go wrong with chocolate and peanut butter.

The next morning, as I was writing this recipe down, it occurred to me how amazingly forgiving and versatile this peanut butter desert is. Next time, I may use Better than Peanut Butter to create a more figure friendly version and maybe even add a dash of cayenne! The possibilities with this fast pb desert are limitless. How about a layer of apricot jam or caramel between the peanut butter mixture and the chocolate?  Or a sprinkle of chopped spicy peanuts to garnish the chocolate? Or how about using almond butter, or cashew butter or…..I think you get the idea. Whip up a batch of these totally simple delish pb deserts today already!!

Peace and Java

 

Prep Time: 10 min                              Cook Time: 0 min                  Total Time: 15 min

Difficulty: Easy Peasy                       Servings: 4-6                        Serving Size: 1/2 cup    

Yield: 1 – 1 1/2 cups     

img_4588

INGREDIENTS:

1  –  1  1/2 cups whipped topping

2-3 tablespoons fat-free half and half

1 cup creamy natural peanut butter

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

Optional: Garnish with a sprinkle sea salt

 

img_4589

DIRECTIONS:

1. Mix 2-3 tablespoons of half and half to thin peanut butter just a bit, adding 1 tablespoon at a time.

2. Add sugar, almond extract and cinnamon to peanut butter mixture and stir until combined.

3. Fold whipped topping into peanut butter mixture. Once combined divide peanut butter among 4 small ramekins.

4. Melt chocolate chips in microwave about 30 seconds to one minute, stirring halfway through until spreadable,

5. Top peanut butter mixture with melted chocolate. Garnish with kosher salt and chill in fridge until ready to serve.


NOTES, TIPS & TRICKS: Make a double batch of these treats for a quick snack anytime! 

Experiment with different nut butters, spices and extracts: like almond or cashew, nutmeg, allspice, cayenne, vanilla or orange.  This recipe is flexible and is perfect to mix and match a variety of flavor combs. Be creative!

 

 

Leave a Reply

